History of WDVCB
The Wisconsin Dells Chamber of Commerce was incorporated on October 17, 1949 as a not-for-profit corporation in the state of Wisconsin. In 1956, an amendment to the Articles of Incorporation changed its name to the Wisconsin Dells Regional Chamber of Commerce. In 1986, its name was officially changed to the Wisconsin Dells Visitor & Convention Bureau.
The Wisconsin Dells Visitor & Convention Bureau is a partnership organization formed to pool human and capital resources and is a voluntary association of businesses. The Visitor Bureau is a professional, economic organization, rather than social, and it represents those businesses that support it.
History of the Wisconsin Dells Area
Mystical photos, taken by H.H. Bennett of the towering bluffs and swirling Wisconsin River, along with the famous one of his son Ashley jumping the chasm at Stand Rock, are what drew the first tourists to the area, and ultimately gave Wisconsin Dells new life as a vacation destination. Commercial development soon followed and frequently centered on the stunning river scenery. In the 1980’s and 1990’s it was outdoor and indoor waterpark development that shaped the next stage of tourism in the Lake Delton/Wisconsin Dells area. Known as the "Waterpark Capital of the World!®" since 2005, the community (with a year-round population just over 5,500) reported estimated visitor expenditures of $1.77 billion in 2021. The area has recently gained recognition and success in the meetings and convention market and has identified the youth sports market as growth market. Tourism is the predominant industry in the Wisconsin Dells area.